Permissions Required: Prompt Admin, User Admin


Before disabling a user it must be verified whether the user has any permission or checked-out documents, as Prompt will block this action until the user permissions are reassigned or revoked and all documents dealt with.

If you try to delete a user without verifying permissions or checked-out documents, the following message will appear:



To verify and manage a user, go to Admin -> Manage Users, select a user from the list, select Edit.



Go to the User Rights tab.


User Rights

The User Rights tab shows the user's current permissions in Prompt.  If a user has any permission in the Admin Rights table or Documents Pending, it will not be possible to disable the user.



Admin Rights

This table shows the current permissions assigned to this user in the User Permissions page.

It also allows removing all permissions and reassignment of permissions to another user.


Reassign Rights

To reassign user rights, select Reassign Rights


A new window will open where you can see the users from your organisation.  It is possible to search for a specific user in the search bar.


Select the user who will receive the reassigned permissions. Select Finish Reassigning.


Once completed the current user will have all permissions reassigned to the select user and will lose all their permissions. The Admin Rights table will be empty.



Remove All Rights

To remove all permissions from a user, select Remove All Rights



A confirmation window will appear, select Delete to confirm.



Once completed the current user will lose their permissions and the Admin Rights table will be empty.



Documents Pending

This list shows all documents pending action required from the current user. If the user has responsibility assigned for checked-out, copied or draft documents, it will not be possible to disable that user. Pending approval documents will not interfere when disabling a user as the approval of those documents can be done by any user with the same document approval permission.


Here you can access the Document Information page to handle each document individually, or select the Reassign Docs button to reassign all documents to another document author.



Reassign Documents


To reassign all documents from a user, select Reassign Docs. A new window will open where you can select a new user to be responsible for the documents that were assigned to the current user. It is also possible to search for a specific user in the search bar.


Important: Only users with Document Author permission will be listed here.

Select the user who will receive the reassigned permissions. Select Finish Reassigning.


Once completed the documents pending will be removed as the user will no longer have documents assigned.

If a user has document approval permissions, the pending approval documents will be listed and will not be reassigned, as the approval of those documents could be done by any user with the same document approval permissions and will not interfere when disabling a user.


Disabling a User


To disable a user, go to Admin -> Manage Users, select a user from the list and select Delete.

A confirmation pop-up will appear, select Delete to confirm


If after confirmation an error message appears, edit the user and verify if the user has permissions or documents as explained previously.


See Also: How to set up user permissions, How to disable a user, How to access the Document Information