Permissions Required: Prompt Admin or User Admin


Access Rights are settings related to what a user can see in Prompt. A user will only be able to see documents from the departments assigned in the user profile page.


Note: This process does not provide access to higher-level functions, this is done by Managing User Profile Permissions


To Manage a user, go to Admin -> Manage Users, select a user from the list and click Edit.


Go to Access Rights tab




Set Organisation Access

To set the user organisation access, you must assign a user to a department and a section.

Users initially will only be able to search the documents from the department they are assigned by default.

Additional department access may be assigned in the Set Department Access section of this page (below). 


Note: the Select All option will not assign a user to Hidden and Restricted departments. 


Additional access can be assigned in the sliders to the left:

  • Cross Organisational Search - This enables a user to search for documents in other active organisations in Prompt
  • Reporting Access - This enables a user to generate reports in their own organisation.

Select Submit to complete



User Rights

The User rights tab shows the user's current permissions in Prompt, it also allows the reassignment of the user permissions to another user. To set up user permissions you must go to the User Permissions page.



Override Approval Notifications

If a user was created to be a document approver, their approval notification settings may be overridden. By default, each approver will receive their approval notifications by the default settings for their organisation. It is possible to set up to receive a notification immediately when an approval is needed and/or receiving a weekly summary report with all pending approvals.


Admin Rights

This table shows the current permissions that were assigned to this user at the User Permissions page.

It also allows the reassignment of the user permissions to another user.


Reassign Rights

To reassign user rights, select the Reassign Rights button.


It will open a new window where you can see the users from your organisation.  It is possible to search for a specific user using the search bar.


Select the user who will receive the reassigned permissions. Select Finish Reassigning.



Once completed the current user will have all permissions reassigned to the select user and will lose all of its permissions, the Admin Rights table will be empty.



Remove All Rights

To remove all permissions from a user, select Remove All Rights.



A confirmation window will appear. Select Delete to confirm.



Once completed the current user will lose their permissions and the Admin Rights table will be empty.



Documents Pending


This list shows all documents pending action for the current user. If the user has checked-out, copied or drafted documents assigned to them, it will not be possible to disable that user. Pending approval documents will not be affected when disabling a user as the approval of those documents may be done by any user with the same document approval permissions.


You may access the Document Information page to handle each document individually, or select the Reassign Docs button to reassign all documents to another document author.



Reassign Documents


To reassign all documents from a user, select Reassign Docs. A new window will open for you to select a new user to be responsible for the documents belonging to the current user. It is also possible to search for a specific user in the search bar.


Important: Only users with Document Author permissions will be listed here.



You must select the user who will receive the reassigned permissions and select Finish Reassigning.



Once completed the documents pending will be removed as the user will no longer have any documents assigned.

If a user has document approval permissions, the pending approval documents will still be listed and will not be reassigned, as the approval of those documents may be done by any user with the same document approval permissions.



See Also: How to set up user permissions, How to configure an Approval Process